Monday, May 16, 2016

climax denial - repentance in ecstacy.

Climax Denial - Repentance In Ecstacy


61.69 MB

1. Immature
2. They Died On A Beautiful Day
3. How Shadow
4. Penance
5. It Was A Short Funeral
6. Metamorph (Intrinsic Action Cover)
7. A Figure Stalking Place
8. The Total Answer

interesting power electronics from climax denial, courtesy of bacteria field.

huge variety of tones and textures here...vocals, melodies, noise, some ambience...this one pretty much runs the gamut.

really great stuff.

copies are still available from the label via the link below.

and while I'd normally tell you all to check out the rest of bacteria field's offerings, this actually appears to be the only release that isn't sold, yeah, there you go.

but obviously keep an eye on that storefront and don't hesitate to grab any new releases as they become available.

(buy a copy from bacteria field.)

(for repentance purposes only.)

Thursday, May 5, 2016

tollund men - autoerotik.

Tollund Men - Autoerotik


90.47 MB

1. Born In Hell
2. Esoteric Criminal
3. Spell Of Deception
4. Adrastea
5. Autoerotik
6. Mausoleum Of Desire
7. The Inmost Self
8. An Insect
9. From Chaos
10. Kiste
11. Himeros
12. Poisoned Robe
13. Suffocating Heart
14. The Garden

don't judge me, I couldn't resist posting this.

first tollund men full-length, courtesy of bleak environment.

I'm glad these guys waited out the darkwave fad before releasing a full-length...they were always one of the best (along with body of light), and with a less-cluttered landscape today than, oh, say, two years ago, this album stands out even more.

that's not to say it couldn't stand out in that more crowded marketplace...but the moods, rhythms, and melodies here are so great that I'm glad it doesn't risk getting lost in the shuffle.

copies of this one are long gone...I think it took a matter of hours...and so is everything else,, yeah, keep an eye on discogs.

(everything is obviously sold out.)

(for preview purposes only.)

Thursday, April 28, 2016

cory strand - memento: a reinterpretation.

Cory Strand - Memento: A Reinterpretation


188.05 MB + 168.56 MB + 187.13 MB + 164.83 MB

1. Part One
2. Part Two
3. Part Three
4. Part Four
5. Part Five
6. Part Six
7. Part Seven
8. Part Eight
9. Part Nine
10. Part Ten
11. Coda One
12. Coda Two

my love for memento is no secret, nor is my love for cory strand's unique reinterpretations of the scores and audio tracks from classic films.

this twelve-disc set, released on strand's altar of waste, perfectly captures the myriad moods put forth by what is, in my opinion, christopher nolan's crowning achievement...and easily one of the best films of the last twenty years.

the sounds and artwork coalesce to form the perfect companion to the film.

it's slow and subtle, gradually seeping into your subconscious and distorting your perception until you're questioning everything around you...

I'd love to see cory do a "totality" version of memento - with the entire audio track turned into destructive wall noise - which would serve as an excellent counterpoint to the gloomy ambience here.

while this one's a little pricey, don't hesitate - fans of the film will love this release, and cory's put the same amount of time, effort, and love into this package that he puts into all of his releases...I don't know how he does it, but I'm glad we get to reap the benefits.

(buy a copy from altar of waste.)

(fact one.)

(fact two.)

(fact three.)

(fact four.)

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

various artists - remise/assume.

Various Artists - Remise/Assume



1. Flysch - Edged: NW 23.10
2. False Moniker - One Arm, One Leg
3. Händer Som Vårdar - Can't
4. Elisha Morningstar - Ghost Wife
5. Slow Listener - Brook's Scowl
6. Minais B - Syrener Og
7. Daphine And Lyndsey - Llantwitt
8. Vasculae - Emulation Formula
9. Wanda Group - Ave Manila
10. Cremation Lily - Love, Made And Remade

the 100th release from zen's strange rules label.

can't believe he's finally hit triple digits.

this compilation represents the full scope of zen's releasing efforts - field recordings, harsh drones, noise, and a whole lot of ghostly, ominous melodies woven throughout.

very ghostly...that's the first adjective that came to mind but it really holds true. whenever I listen to any of zen's releases, I feel the sound calling out for visual accompaniment...and while I've made visuals to some of zen's music before, one clip isn't doesn't do the label justice.

maybe one day...

copies are sold out from the source but one is available on discogs.

don't miss this crowning achievement from one of the best, most consistent labels around.

(for assumption purposes only.)

Thursday, April 14, 2016

plagues - death is salvation.

Plagues - Death Is Salvation


75.32 MB

1. Forsaken
2. Death Is Salvation
3. Nothing Matters
4. Renounce
5. Seething Hatred
6. Triumph Of The Flame
7. Spiritual Bondage

power electronics courtesy of waterpower.

double cassette in a clamshell case.

support the label by purchasing through analog worship.

plagues recently put out a lathe-cut on unseen force.

it's sold out but available on bandcamp.

(for salvation purposes only.)

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

haraam - let the swords tear me to pieces.

Haraam - Let The Swords Tear Me To Pieces


56.8 MB

1. Fighting Is Ordained For You
2. The Faceless God
3. A Snake In The Grave
4. Only God Knows
5. A Dark Star Rises
6. Solidify Their Blood

dark, grimy techno courtesy of fallow field.

I wanted to post that noir noir tape but someone beat me to it.

kind of like a lower-fi vatican shadow. check out more haraam releases via bandcamp, including an earlier fallow field release.

already sold out from the label...hell, the entire batch is already sold out, but that shouldn't come as much of a surprise.

(for forbidden purposes only.)

Monday, March 28, 2016

cory strand - gummo: revisited.

Cory Strand - Gummo: Revisited


159.43 MB

1. I
2. II
3. III
4. IV
5. V

as some of you know, gummo is an incredibly important film to me for a variety of reasons.

beyond the fact that it's a unique, utterly bewildering, and occasionally terrifying cinematic experience, it's had an incredible impact on my professional career.

my very first internship while attending tisch was for forensic films, run by scott macaulay and robin o'hara, who produced the film. I applied for the internship simply because the description said they were the producers of gummo.

after interning there for more than a year and a half, I moved on to hdnet films, due in large part to scott's recommendation.

but before leaving forensic, I connected with jacob reynolds - whose silhouette appears on that cover up there - and we began making films together. we've had some scripts optioned, a few of our shorts have played at festivals across the united states, and it was through him that I was introduced to my wonderful girlfriend.

and did I forget to mention the fact that gummo has a ridiculously incredible soundtrack?

cory's "revisitation" of the film's sountrack definitely plays to a lot of it's strengths - the noise here sounds like buzzing black metal guitars just waiting for blast beats and shrieked vocals to kick it into gear.

limited to just five copies, this one is long gone, but buy a whole bunch of cory's other releases...doesn't matter which ones...they're all excellent, forward-thinking, and lovingly packaged.

(buy something from altar of waste.)

(for preview purposes only.)